today I had to fire someone (archived from LabSpaces)

originally posted 2 Dec 2010

Today I had to fire someone. Well, actually I had to tell one of my lab peeps (let’s call him Al) that they would only have a job for a few more months. This is not because Al sucks. Al helped me get my lab up and running and, though not a rock-star, has been solid. No, Al did not do anything wrong.

But I had to let Al go. Because the grant that was paying for Al is running out of money. And I was faced with a choice. Between keeping Al around or taking on another grad student. I thought hard about this, and I really think this is the right decision of my lab. Al was helpful in starting out, but the grad students I am considering are smart and motivated. And they can get on training grants.

So there you have it. I told Al because I wanted him to have as much time as possible to find another gig. But it sucked. It is the first time I have had someone in my office fighting to hold back tears.

I need a beer

About gerty-z

scientist, mom, runner, beverage lover
This entry was posted in tenure-track OTJT and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

